Pause to quarantine-free travel from South Australia to New Zealand

Quarantine-free travel from South Australia to New Zealand will be paused from 11:59pm (NZT) on 20 July.

However, people currently in the state who ordinarily live in New Zealand will be able to travel starting with the next available flight, and are encouraged to do so.

A negative pre-departure test taken within 72 hours of flying will be required for eligible passengers. They will also need to complete a health declaration confirming they have not been at a location of interest and the Nau Mai Rā travel declaration.

Complete Nau Mai Rā travel declaration (external link)

A stay in managed isolation or quarantine (MIQ) will not be required.

The decision is based on public health advice from New Zealand officials and follows South Australia’s announcement this afternoon that it would go into lockdown for 7 days from 6pm tonight.

The pause will run for 7 days, to 27 July, to coincide with the timing of the lockdown and will be reviewed on that day.

The Government acknowledges this will be disruptive for travellers and organisations.

However, given the current uncertainty and our consistently cautious approach to prevent COVID-19 from entering the New Zealand community, the Government is confident it is the right approach.

The pause means people cannot travel to New Zealand from South Australia for the duration of the pause unless they are normally resident in New Zealand and wish to return.


At this stage, there is no change to quarantine-free travel for Queensland.